About us


University of Essex

Elections to Council

Result - Senate Election to the membership of Council 2016-17 to 2018-19

Nominations were recently sought for one Head of Department from the Senate to stand for election to Council for the period 2016-17 to 2018-19 (three year term).

One nomination was received by the deadline. Therefore no ballot will be held.

We have pleasure in confirming the appointment of Dr Nilufer Demirkan-Jones from the 1 August 2016.

In accordance with Ordinance 16, the Academic Staff members of Senate elected by Senate to the Council, shall constitute the Senate Agenda Group. The Senate Agenda Group meets about a month before each Senate meeting to discuss possible agenda items for discussion under Section A of the Senate agenda, which covers items relating to academic policy and strategy. The chair of the Senate Agenda Group meets with the Vice-Chancellor and others shortly afterwards to discuss the Senate agenda and, where appropriate, to request that items be placed on the agenda. The Senate Agenda Group may recommend to the Vice-Chancellor that an extraordinary meeting of the Senate be called to discuss an urgent matter of academic policy or strategy.

Further information about Council and the role description for members of Council (pdf) can be found on the Governance website.  

The dates for meetings of Council and Council Away Days/Induction in 2016-17 are as follows:


Monday 28 November 2016 2pm-5pm (pre-programme 11.30am-2pm)
Monday 20 February 2017 2pm-5pm (pre-programme 11.30am-2pm - Southend Campus tbc)
Monday 15 May 2017 2pm-5pm (preceded by Council Away Day 9am-1pm)
Monday 17 July 2017 2pm-5pm (preceded by Council Away Day 9am-1pm)

Council Away Day

Thursday 17 November 2016 9am-5pm
Monday 15 May 2017 9am-1pm (followed by Council meeting)
Monday 17 July 2017 9am-1pm (followed by Council meeting)

Council Induction

Monday 19 September 2016 9am-5pm
Tuesday 25 April 2017 9am-5pm

Dr Sonia Virdee

Deputy Secretary

University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3SQ

Telephone 01206 874682

Email elections@essex.ac.uk