MyEssex: the student portal

New students

Study resources

My course

Exams and coursework

Health and wellbeing

Disability and dyslexia

Campus and travel info

Student experience

Student communities

Money matters

Graduation

Get help and support

Departmental Disability Liaison Officers

The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer (DDLO) is a direct link for you between the Student Services Hub and your department. They can help make sure that the Disability Service know about any adjustments you need.

Department Disability Liaison Officer Telephone Email
American Studies Olivia Jenkinson 01206 873914 ocjenk@essex.ac.uk
Biological Sciences Murray Griffin 01206 873336 mgriffin@essex.ac.uk
Computing and Electronic Systems Francisco Sepulveda 01206 874151 fsepluv@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Loughton Salvatore Sorce 020 8418 7346 ssorce@essex.ac.uk
East 15, Southend Teresa Zoers 01206 878325 tazoers@essex.ac.uk
Economics Marcus Chambers 01206 872756 mchamb@essex.ac.uk
Essex Abroad Vicky Pratt 01206 873565 vpratt@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Colchester Winifred Huang- Meier 01206 872935 w.huang-meier@essex.ac.uk
Essex Business School, Southend Marianna Marra 01702 328406 mmarra@essex.ac.uk
Essex Pathways Department Audrey Woraker 01206 874206 aworak@essex.ac.uk
Government Theresa Crowley 01206 873486 crowtx@essex.ac.uk
Health and Human Sciences, Colchester Teresa Eade 01206 874557 teade@essex.ac.uk
Health and Human Sciences, Southend Paul Buka 01702 328426 pbuka@essex.ac.uk
History Amanda Flather 01206 872311 flatak@essex.ac.uk
Human Rights Centre Penny Breary-Horne 01206 873723 pbrear@essex.ac.uk
Interdisciplinary Studies Centre Steve Gormley 01206 872709 segorm@essex.ac.uk
Language and Linguistics Christina Gkonou 01206 872633 cgkono@essex.ac.uk
Law Penny Brearey-Horne 01206 873723 pbrear@essex.ac.uk
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies John Gillies 01206 872609 jgillies@essex.ac.uk
Mathematical Sciences Aris Perperoglou 01206 873036 aperpe@essex.ac.uk
Philosophy and Art History Steve Gormley 01206 872709 segorm@essex.ac.uk
Psychology Dean Wybrow 01206 874179 dpwybr@essex.ac.uk
Psychoanalytic Studies, Centre of Elena Della Rosa 01206 873903 edella@essex.ac.uk
Sociology Rowena Macaulay 01206 873743 rowena@essex.ac.uk

  • Role of the Departmental Disability Liaison Officer

    The Departmental Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the subject area you are studying and the structure of the department
    • can provide advice about the University’s specialist support services
    • can act as a link between the department and the Student Services Hub
    • is available if you wish to disclose or initially discuss your needs with them
    • can liaise with lecturers if you are worried, or embarrassed, about talking to them about disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the department
    • can provide advice if you are experiencing problems with your academic progress as a result of a permanent or temporary disability, medical condition or specific learning difficulty and who will be able to find out about the options available to you
    • will listen to your concerns confidentially

  • Section Disability Liaison Officers

    In addition to Departmental Liaison Officers the following sections have appointed a Section Disability Liaison Officer you can contact to discuss disability related issues.

    Role of the Section Disability Liaison Officer

    The Section Disability Liaison Officer:

    • has a knowledge of the relevant section’s policies and procedures
    • can act as a link between the section and the Student Services Hub; you can disclose, or discuss your needs, confidentially to them
    • can liaise with members of staff in the section, if appropriate, about students’ disability related difficulties
    • can assist if you feel the reasonable adjustments recommended are not being implemented by the section